Spotlight on Sherwood - Annual Award Nominations for 2018

  • Share:
April 06, 2018

Nominate to recognize Community Leaders

 for Outstanding Service 2018 “Spotlight on Sherwood Awards”
The Sherwood Area Chamber of Business is currently accepting nominations for the 2018 Spotlight on Sherwood Awards.  Nominations are accepted in the following categories:  Large Business, Small Business, Rookie of the Year, Business Leader of the Year, Citizen of the Year, Commitment to Youth, Golden Apple Award:  Educator, Outstanding Community Service, and Outstanding Youth.  All Nominations MUST be submitted by Friday, May 18, 2018.  Supplemental Nomination information is requested.
The winner for each category will be announced during the Sherwood Chamber of Commerce Spotlight on Sherwood Awards Dinner on Thursday, June 28th, 2018.  The dinner and awards ceremony will be held in Old Town Sherwood.  Winners will also be acknowledged in the 2018 Annual Business & Community Resource Guide.  Complete Nomination Rules and Past Winners can be found on and the link to the Nomination Form
Large Business of the Year:
This award is given to a large business (10+ employees) that demonstrates successful business practices, supports and engages in civic activities, and fosters business development within the community.
Small Business of the Year:   
This award is given to a business (9 employees or less) that demonstrates successful business practices, supports and engages in civic activities, and fosters business development within the community.  
Rookie of the Year:
This award is given to a new business (2 years and less young) that demonstrates successful business practices, supports and engages in civic activities, and fosters business development within the community.  
Business Leader of the Year:  
This award is given to someone within the Sherwood Chamber who has made significant and lasting contributions to the Sherwood Community. They have demonstrated leadership and cooperation while benefiting the community and/or civic enterprises in the Sherwood area.
Citizen of the Year: 
This award is given to an individual that is active in the community, demonstrates exceptional business ethics, provides leadership, and is a role model for others in the community.
Commitment to Youth Award:  
This award is given to an individual or organization that has shown through volunteering a commitment to help the youth in the Sherwood community. 
Golden Apple Award:  
This award is given to an educator that has shown through classroom innovation, volunteering or involvement in the community a commitment to the youth in the Sherwood community. This individual has shown to be a mentor of children and they have gone above and beyond what is expected of them.  
Outstanding Community Service Award:  
This award is given to a service club, volunteer, or non-profit organization. This person or organization has shown outstanding leadership, both within their organization and in their involvement in the community.
Outstanding Youth Award: 
This award recognizes a selfless young person who has demonstrated their commitment to the Sherwood community through civic activities and leadership.
To nominate for one of the Annual Awards, complete an on-line Nominee Form by visiting or in the Sherwood Chamber of Commerce office.
Past Recipients of the Annual Awards
Large Business of the Year
PDX Wraps  2017                                                       Sherwood Dental Care 2016
Home Depot 2015                                                      Rose’s Restaurant & Bakery 2014
Les Schwab 2013                                                       Pacific Family Dental 2012    
Sherwood YMCA 2011                                              Innovations in Management 2010
Bilet Products 2009                                                    Jim Fisher Roofing 2008
Al’s Garden Center 2007                                            Desirant Day Spa 2006
Cedar Creek Assisted Living 2005                             Pride Disposal 2004
Small Business of the Year
Hungry Hero Dessert Co 2017                                   Sherwood Dance Academy 2016
503 Uncorked 2015                                                    Musa Martial Arts 2014
Sesame Donuts 2013                                                 Symposium 2012       
The Sherwood UPS Store 2011                                  It’s All Arranged 2010
Oregon Hearing Solutions 2009                                 Sherwood Coffee Company 2008
Chef Bernie Danylchuck 2007                                   Nationwide Insurance 2006
Accent Signs 2005                                                      Portraits by Design 2004
Rookie Business of the Year
Fairbanks Allstate Agency 2016                                Mason 2017
Business Leader of the Year
Shelly Rath 2017                                                        Renee Brouse 2016
Kate Noreen 2015                                                       Kevin Bates 2014
Amber Gardner 2013                                                  Stephanie & Jake Adams 2012           
Michael Carlson 2011                                                Matt Langer 2010
Citizen of the Year
Gregg Jacot 2017                                                        Polly Blankenbaker 2016
Langer Family 2015                                                   Jim Haynes 2014
Selma Broadhurst 2013                                             Keith Mays 2012       
Leslie McCabe 2011                                                   Renee Brouse 2010
Dan Jamison 2009                                                      Mark Federspiel 2008
Lee Weislogel 2007                                                    Susan Rychlick 2006
Phil McGuighan 2005                                                Carrie Richards 2004
Commitment to Youth Award
Dr. JJ Bittner 2017                                                      Lt Rob Watson 2016
Rotary Club of Sherwood 2015                                  Robyn Folsom 2014              
Jim Winkler 2013                                                       Sherwood HS Booster Club 2012
Susan Rychlick 2011                                                  Bill Butterfield 2010
Golden Apple Award
Jon Dickover                                                              Rebeccah Wagner 2016
Doreen Steffeck 2015                                                 Jeff Stirling 2014                               
Mike Dyer 2013                                                          Kathy Fisher 2012     
Colleen Thompson 2011                                           Diane Palidychuck 2010
John Neibergall 2009
Outstanding Community Service Award
Gerry & Dottie Edy 2017                                           Voices of the Performing Arts 2016
Lee Weislogel 2015                                                    Todd & Leslie McCabe 2014
Capt. Mark Daniel 2013                                             The Springs of Sherwood Residents &
                                                                                    Volunteers 2012        
Sherwood Rotary AM 2011                                       Bob Silverforb 2010
Outstanding Youth Award
Matthew Schantine 2017                                            Kristen Johnston 2016
Caitie Clifford 2015                                                    Clair Johnson 2012
Jacob Keeth 2014                                                       Liam Jaussi 2011
Liz Wells 2013                                                          Emily Rychlick 2010 
# # #If you would like more information about this topic, please contact Lana at 503-625-7800 or email at
Lana Painter, CEO