Spotlight on Sherwood - Annual Award Nominations for 2017

  • Share:
April 06, 2017

                      FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

                                                          April 6, 2017



Lana Painter, Executive Director  503-625-7800

Nominate to recognize Community Leaders
for Outstanding Service 2017 “Spotlight on Sherwood Awards”
The Sherwood Area Chamber of Business is currently accepting nominations for the 2017 Spotlight on Sherwood Awards.  Nominations are accepted in the following categories:  Large Business, Small Business, Rookie of the Year, Business Leader of the Year, Citizen of the Year, Commitment to Youth, Golden Apple Award:  Educator, Outstanding Community Service, and Outstanding Youth.  All Nominations MUST be submitted by Friday, May 12, 2017.  Supplemental Nomination information is requested.
The winner for each category will be announced during the Sherwood Chamber of Commerce Spotlight on Sherwood Awards Dinner on Thursday, June 29th, 2017.  The dinner and awards ceremony will be held in Old Town Sherwood.  Winners will also be acknowledged in the 2018 Annual Business & Community Resource Guide.  Complete Nomination Rules and Past Winners can be found on and the link to the Nomination Form
Large Business of the Year:
This award is given to a large business (10+ employees) that demonstrates successful business practices, supports and engages in civic activities, and fosters business development within the community.
Small Business of the Year:   
This award is given to a business (9 employees or less) that demonstrates successful business practices, supports and engages in civic activities, and fosters business development within the community.  
Rookie of the Year:
This award is given to a new business (2 years and less young) that demonstrates successful business practices, supports and engages in civic activities, and fosters business development within the community.  
Business Leader of the Year:  
This award is given to someone within the Sherwood Chamber who has made significant and lasting contributions to the Sherwood Community. They have demonstrated leadership and cooperation while benefiting the community and/or civic enterprises in the Sherwood area.
Citizen of the Year: 
This award is given to an individual that is active in the community, demonstrates exceptional business ethics, provides leadership, and is a role model for others in the community.
Commitment to Youth Award:  
This award is given to an individual or organization that has shown through volunteering a commitment to help the youth in the Sherwood community. 
Golden Apple Award:  
This award is given to an educator that has shown through classroom innovation, volunteering or involvement in the community a commitment to the youth in the Sherwood community. This individual has shown to be a mentor of children and they have gone above and beyond what is expected of them.  
Outstanding Community Service Award:  
This award is given to a service club, volunteer, or non-profit organization. This person or organization has shown outstanding leadership, both within their organization and in their involvement in the community.
Outstanding Youth Award: 
This award recognizes a selfless young person who has demonstrated their commitment to the Sherwood community through civic activities and leadership.
To nominate for one of the Annual Awards, complete an on line Nominee Form by visiting or in the Sherwood Chamber of Commerce office.
Past Recipients of the Annual Awards
Large Business of the Year
Sherwood Dental Care 2016
Home Depot 2015                                                      Rose’s Restaurant & Bakery 2014
Les Schwab 2013                                                      Pacific Family Dental 2012     
Sherwood YMCA 2011                                               Innovations in Management 2010
Bilet Products 2009                                                   Jim Fisher Roofing 2008
Al’s Garden Center 2007                                            Desirant Day Spa 2006
Cedar Creek Assisted Living 2005                              Pride Disposal 2004
Small Business of the Year
Sherwood Dance Academy 2016
503 Uncorked 2015                                                    Musa Martial Arts 2014
Sesame Donuts 2013                                                 Symposium 2012       
The Sherwood UPS Store 2011                                   It’s All Arranged 2010
Oregon Hearing Solutions 2009                                  Sherwood Coffee Company 2008
Chef Bernie Danylchuck 2007                                    Nationwide Insurance 2006
Accent Signs 2005                                                    Portraits by Design 2004
Business Leader of the Year
Renee Brouse 2016
Kate Noreen 2015                                                      Kevin Bates 2014
Amber Gardner 2013                                                 Stephanie & Jake Adams 2012          
Michael Carson 2011                                                 Matt Langer 2010
Citizen of the Year
Polly Blankenbaker 2016
Langer Family 2015                                                   Jim Haynes 2014
Selma Broadhurst 2013                                              Keith Mays 2012       
Leslie McCabe 2011                                                   Renee Brouse 2010
Dan Jamison 2009                                                     Mark Federspiel 2008
Lee Weislogel 2007                                                    Susan Rychlick 2006
Phil McGuighan 2005                                                Carrie Richards 2004
Commitment to Youth Award
Voices of the Performing Arts 2016
Rotary Club of Sherwood 2015
Robyn Folsom 2014                                                   Sherwood HS Booster Club 2012
Robyn Folsom 2015                                                   Susan Rychlick 2011             
Jim Winkler 2013                                                       Bill Butterfield 2010
Golden Apple Award
Rebeccah Wagner 2016
Doreen Steffeck 2015
Jeff Stirling 2014                                                       Kathy Fisher 2012     
Mike Dyer 2013                                                        Diane Palidychuck 2010
Colleen Thompson 2011                                            John Neibergall 2009
Outstanding Community Service Award
Lt. Rob Watson 2016
Lee Weislogel 2015
Todd & Leslie McCabe 2014                                    The Springs of Sherwood Residents and
Capt. Mark Daniel 2013                                           Volunteers 2012         
Sherwood Rotary AM 2011                                       Bob Siverforb 2010
Outstanding Youth Award
Kristen Johnston 2016
Caitie Clifford 2015                                                   Jacob Keeth 2014
Liz Wells 2013                                                          Clair Johnson 2012    
Liam Jaussi 2011                                                     Emily Rychlick 2010
# # #If you would like more information about this topic, please contact Lana at 503-625-7800 or email at
Lana Painter, Executive Director, 5036257800